Featured home: In Barrington, the best of old and new
Nestled behind a find crafted stone wall is the Samuel and Silence Bullock House, located in the Rumstick section of Barrington. The historic home was built in 1780, but wasn’t moved to its current location at 73 Ferry Lane until 1891.
The a 2.5-story flank gable roof, clapboard and shingle home was originally built several blocks away on what is now Governor Bradford Drive, part of Thurber Farm. Records show that in 1891, Frederick A. Devoll bought the farm and moved the house to Ferry Lane for a member of the Chapman family, according to the Rhode Island Historical Commission.
The 3-bed, 2.5-bath house is a blend of old and new. It features a large, center island kitchen with granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, oversized windows and French doors that open to granite steps leading to the gardens.
The master bedroom suite addition has vaulted and beamed ceilings, a fireplace, an en suite bathroom and a sitting room. There are two additional bedrooms and a newly updated full bathroom.
The historic structure still has its original wide board floors, post and beam construction, an original pantry, exposed beams, three original fireplaces, a dining room, family room, study and a secret attic hideaway.
The current owners have loved and cared for the home, and added many features to the home, including the addition of central air.
The home sites on a three-quarter acre lot with mature gardens, stone walls, a field stone patio, Koi pond, millstone, pergola and grapevines. There is a detached, oversized two-car garage with walk-up attic and an extra outbuilding.
The property is a short walk to Barrington Harbor, and an easy ride to Barrington Beach, the East Bay bike path and town center.
The home is available for the asking price of $749,900. For more information or to schedule a viewing, contact Michelle Cartwright and Ted Friedman with RE/MAX River’s Edge at 401-245-2000 or 401-663-5677.