Steady as she goes for Bristol Town Council

By Christy Nadalin
Posted 11/9/22

Bristol voters returned the same five Town Councilors that were first elected in 2018.

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Not a subscriber?

Start a Subscription

Sign up to start a subscription today! Click here to see your options.

Purchase a day pass

Purchase 24 hours of website access for $2. Click here to continue

Day pass subscribers

Are you a day pass subscriber who needs to log in? Click here to continue.

Steady as she goes for Bristol Town Council


“If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” seems to be the dominant sentiment among Bristol voters, who have returned the same five Town Councilors that were first elected in 2018.

Tony Teixeira (I) was the top vote-getter with 4,867 votes, followed by Mary Parella (R) with 4,617, Nathan Calouro (I) with 4,447, Tim Sweeney (D) with 4,435, and Aaron Ley (D) with 4,211 votes. Finishing out of the running were former councillor Edward Stuart, Jr. (I) , Bethany Sousa Foster (D) and Andrew Broten (D).

“I think people are just more comfortable with the incumbents,” said Foster. "I was hoping we’d see some new perspectives on the Council, but I guess not at this time.”

“I feel the slate of Democratic candidates the party put together was fantastic, and the effort we put in to make our platform known was well communicated,” said Broten. “I think the people elected will serve Bristol well.”

To be fair, challengers faced an uphill battle attempting to unseat a council in a town which is enjoying an infrastructure boom, was recently named safest in the state and safest college town in the U.S., and whose tax rate is among the lowest in the state.

The incumbents reached for comment echoed that sentiment.

“I’m thrilled,” said Sweeney. “I’ve been doing this for 10 years, I love working for the town and moving the town forward. I’m really excited to continue to work towards job opportunities, continue to work on the environment, and continue to make sure the town stays affordable for all residents. I’m thrilled to continue the good work.”

“I think that speaks volumes,” said Calouro of the fact that the entire Council was reelected. “It’s a compliment to my colleagues; I’m grateful to the people of Bristol who put us back there. It’s oversaid, but it’s humbling.”

In fact, the only difference in the outcome of the vote since 2020 was Calouro’s position in the line-up. That year, he placed first. This year, he moved to third; his colleagues maintained their order from 2020. The other thing that changed since 2020? The former Democrat now runs as an Independent. Could that have impacted his numbers?

“It could, I don’t know,” said Calouro. “I do know that Independent better defines who I am. No disrespect to either party; I have always been middle of the road.”

The other Council Independent enjoyed a good night as well. “I’m just glad that after seven election cycles I still have that vote of confidence, that I can still contribute to the town,” said first-place finisher Teixeira. “I’m glad to see my colleagues returning to the Council so we can continue to work on the many endeavors and projects in town.

“I look forward to continuing that partnership.”

2023 by East Bay Media Group

Barrington · Bristol · East Providence · Little Compton · Portsmouth · Tiverton · Warren · Westport
Meet our staff
Jim McGaw

A lifelong Portsmouth resident, Jim graduated from Portsmouth High School in 1982 and earned a journalism degree from the University of Rhode Island in 1986. He's worked two different stints at East Bay Newspapers, for a total of 18 years with the company so far. When not running all over town bringing you the news from Portsmouth, Jim listens to lots and lots and lots of music, watches obscure silent films from the '20s and usually has three books going at once. He also loves to cook crazy New Orleans dishes for his wife of 25 years, Michelle, and their two sons, Jake and Max.