Tag Archives: Election 2012

Photo by Rich Dionne
Tony Teixeira (middle) and his family and friends erupt as results come in to Tweets Restaurant on Tuesday night.

Teixeira easily defeats Barboza for Bristol town administrator

Teixeira easily defeats Barboza for Bristol town administrator

Retired educator and current Bristol Town Councilor Antonio Teixeira handily defeated fellow Bristol Town Councilor David Barboza to be the next town administrator. Mr. Teixeira, an Independent, had 66 percent of the votes. Mr. Barboza is a Democrat. Mr. Teixeira will replace the retiring Diane Mederos. Council chairman Ken Marshall also took his race for

A victorious Halsey Herreshoff chats with friends Tuesday night.

Parella, Herreshoff, Calouro and Stuart win Bristol council seats

Incumbent Republicans Mary Parella and Halsey Herreshoff easily won two seats on the Bristol Town Council, and it appears they will be joined by three newcomers, all Democrats, pending absentee ballots. Nathan Calouro and Edward Stuart Jr. finished third and fourth, respectively, in the race for five council seats, while Timothy Sweeney has a narrow

Joseph DePasquale is the newest member of the Warren Town Council.

DePasquale in, Bolster out in Warren Town Council race

Former Warren Town Councilor Joseph DePasquale will get another chance to serve his town. The Independent council candidate placed third in voting for five seats on the council, assuring himself a seat even as voters rejected outgoing councilor Davison Bolster, who finished sixth. Also making the cut were incumbent Democrats David Frerichs, the top vote


Bristol’s Marshall wins District 68 seat

Kenny Marshall is going to Smith Hill. The Bristol Democrat, who most recently served as chairman of the Bristol Town Council, handily defeated Republican challenger Michael Donahue for the District 68 seat most recently held by Richard Morrison, a Democrat. Mr. Morrison, a one-term legislator, chose not to run for a second term and Mr.

Harrington, Allder, Bugara win

LITTLE COMPTON — Mary-Jane Harrington, in one of the most-watched contests in town — a three-way fight for election to be Little Compton’s treasurer  and collector of taxes, won the position with 44.6 percent of the vote. She is the incumbent, and the only announced Democrat among the town’s 14 candidates for public office this

Tiverton 1st wins duel with TCC

TIVERTON — Election night was a clear victory for Tiverton 1st and Democratic Town Committee-supported candidates for town council, the school committee, and the budget committee. Tiverton 1st, a new community organization this election season, and the Democrats each endorsed 15 candidates, 13 of whom won. For the same offices, Tiverton Citizens for Change (TCC) endorsed

Jim Seveney crunches numbers for the Democrats at the Portuguese American Club while Len Katzman pears over his shoulder. Barring changes,

Democrats take over Portsmouth

PORTSMOUTH — Democrats gathered at the Portuguese American Club are celebrating tonight after voters put them back in control of Portsmouth. Although there are still many absentee ballots to tally, Democrats lead the way in five of seven Town Council seats — in order, John Blaess, Keith Hamilton, Michael Buddemeyer, James Seveney, Independent David Gleason,

Rebecca St. Vincent expresses her frustration after a half hour wait to vote.

Polls draw crowds and wildlife in Bristol

Shortly before 3 p.m., approximately 300 voters cast their ballots at the Burnside Building. With the sign-in table empty, Donna Soares came through the door with Jake, a Moluccan Cockatoo, perched on her shoulder. “We’re here to fire the president,” Ms. Soares announced. As poll workers checked her name on the voter registration list, others