Westport High salutes 34 Adams Scholarship Winners


By Cheryl Tutalo

Westport High School Principal

The John and Abigail Adams Scholarship provides a tuition waiver for up to eight semesters of undergraduate education at a Massachusetts state college or university. The scholarship covers tuition only; fees and room and board are not included. The scholarship must be used within six years of a student's high school graduation. Massachusetts public high school students become eligible for the scholarship when they:

• Score at the Advanced and Proficient levels on grade 10 MCAS tests in English Language Arts (ELA) and Mathematics. (A student must earn a score of Advanced on the ELA or Mathematics test and a score ofProficient or higher on the second test); and

• Have combined scores from the MCAS ELA and Mathematics tests that place them in the top 25% of students in the graduating class in their district.

Scholarship eligibility is based on each student's first attempt at taking the grade 10 MCAS tests in ELA and Mathematics. In order to receive the scholarship, a student must be enrolled in a Massachusetts public high school in his or her senior year. Students who qualify for the scholarship will receive award letters and further information in the fall of their senior year.

The following members of the Class of 2013 have been awarded the John and Abigail Scholarship:  Matthew Amaral, Cameron Beaulieu, Mason Boyd, Michael Broadbent, Brandon Brow, Dalton Bryant, Alyssa Carvara, Kelsey Cestodio, Rachel Cowen, Kristin Darcy, Kristin Darcy, Glenn Enos, Jacob Friar, Cassandra Gath, Brandon Gomes,Liam Greene-Beaupre, Christopher Hartnett, Michaela Joaquim, Morgan Levesque, Daniel Marques, Sarah Mello, Samantha Mingola, Layla Moran, Amanda Nicholas, Morgan Nicholas, Shannen Pavao, Ryan Pelland, Dustin Rodergiues, Zoe Shea, Matthew Souza, Alexander Tavares, Mariah Terry, Matthew Tidwell, and Justin Vincelette.



No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

2016 by East Bay Newspapers

Barrington · Bristol · East Providence · Little Compton · Portsmouth · Prudence Island · Riverside · Rumford · Seekonk · Tiverton · Warren · Westport
Meet our staff
Mike Rego

Mike Rego has worked at East Bay Newspapers since 2001, helping the company launch The Westport Shorelines. He soon after became a Sports Editor, spending the next 10-plus years in that role before taking over as editor of The East Providence Post in February of 2012. To contact Mike to submit information, suggest story ideas or photo opportunities, etc., email mrego@eastbaynewspapers.com.