School race, highway question but little else on April 9 ballot

An active school committee race but little other candidate competition awaits voters at next spring's town elections. Voters April 9 will also be asked whether they want the highway surveyor job to change from an elected to an appointed position. By show of hands last month, special town meeting voters managed the two-thirds majority needed to put that question on the April 9 ballot. By the Tuesday, Feb. 19, 5 p.m. filing deadline, three candidates had applied for two openings on the Westport School Committee. Incumbent Chairwoman Michelle Duarte is running for reelection to her seat. Also entering the fray are Nancy Rioux of 17 President Street, and Melissa Pacheco of 18 Dias Avenue who are vying for the seat held by Eric Larrivee who opted not to run for reelection. In the Board of Selectmen "race," incumbent Chairman Richard Spirlet had anticipated a three-way race but that prospect evaporated on deadline day. Two candidates who had taken out nomination papers — Thomas Schmitt of 28 Whistler Road, and School Committee member Michael P. Sullivan — did not return their papers by the Tuesday deadline so Mr. Spirlet will be unchallenged (barring a write-in bid). In other filing day news … • There are three candidates for two Trustees of Free Public Library positions. Incumbent Robert Gormley is up for reelection. He is joined by candidate Sharon Hanover of 1874 Main Road and Andrew Daboury of 353 Tickle Road, both of whom are seeking the seat held  by Marjorie Sandborg who is not seeking another term. • Steven Fors faces no competition for another term as Westport town moderator. • Incumbent Steven Medeiros is unopposed for Board of Assessors. • Incumbent Sean Leach faces no opponent for return to the Board of Health (three-year term). • Incumbent Landing Commission member Maxwell Turner is unopposed. • David Cole faces no opposition for the vacant three-year Planning Board seat that he took over after the resignation of Chairman John Montano late last year. • Nobody filed papers for the following vacancies, likely leaving the posts to write in efforts: — Fish commissioner — Commissioner of trust funds — Housing Authority seat — Two Planning Board seats, one for five years, the other for three years.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

2016 by East Bay Newspapers

Barrington · Bristol · East Providence · Little Compton · Portsmouth · Prudence Island · Riverside · Rumford · Seekonk · Tiverton · Warren · Westport
Meet our staff
Mike Rego

Mike Rego has worked at East Bay Newspapers since 2001, helping the company launch The Westport Shorelines. He soon after became a Sports Editor, spending the next 10-plus years in that role before taking over as editor of The East Providence Post in February of 2012. To contact Mike to submit information, suggest story ideas or photo opportunities, etc., email