Parella, Herreshoff, Calouro and Stuart win Bristol council seats


Incumbent Republicans Mary Parella and Halsey Herreshoff easily won two seats on the Bristol Town Council, and it appears they will be joined by three newcomers, all Democrats, pending absentee ballots. Nathan Calouro and Edward Stuart Jr. finished third and fourth, respectively, in the race for five council seats, while Timothy Sweeney has a narrow lead over former councilors Raymond Cordeiro and Richard Ruggeiro for the board's final spot. Absentee ballots will determine that final seat.

To see the complete Bristol Town Council results, click here.

To see all Bristol results, click here.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

2016 by East Bay Newspapers

Barrington · Bristol · East Providence · Little Compton · Portsmouth · Prudence Island · Riverside · Rumford · Seekonk · Tiverton · Warren · Westport
Meet our staff
Jim McGaw

A lifelong Portsmouth resident, Jim graduated from Portsmouth High School in 1982 and earned a journalism degree from the University of Rhode Island in 1986. He's worked two different stints at East Bay Newspapers, for a total of 18 years with the company so far. When not running all over town bringing you the news from Portsmouth, Jim listens to lots and lots and lots of music, watches obscure silent films from the '20s and usually has three books going at once. He also loves to cook crazy New Orleans dishes for his wife of 25 years, Michelle, and their two sons, Jake and Max.