Little Compton seats contested; budget committee turnover looms


LITTLE COMPTON — For the first time in a number of years, the election of new members to the powerful Little Compton Budget Committee will be contested this year.

Six candidates are competing for two positions that are currently falling open on the five-member committee,

At the election of committee members, to take place at the upcoming Financial Town Meeting (FTM), voters will be asked to vote for any two of the six who have announced they are running.

The terms of the successful candidates will run for two years from the date of their election.

The two positions up for grabs are those of incumbent Ben Gauther, who is not running for re-election, and the position held by incumbent Robert Goff, who is running again.

A third position will soon become open when — "sometime over the next several months," he says — Scott Morrison, currently the Chairman of the Budget Committee, said he plans to announce his resignation from the Budget Committee.

The vacancy created by Mr. Morrison's planned resignation over the summer will be filled, according to the Town Charter (Sec. 204), by whoever captures the next highest number of votes after the two who are selected in the upcoming May 20 election.

The person who fills Mr. Morrison's vacated position will hold office until next year's FTM, when Mr. Morrison's current term is set to expire.

In effect, the election of Budget Committee members at this year's FTM may be viewed as an election of three out of five members of the committee, with the third newly elected member taking office only when Mr. Morrison resigns, and only holding the office for Mr. Morrison's unexpired term.

The six candidates (and their addresses) are: Roy F. Bonner (12 Bass Terrace), Hilary G. Woodhouse (24 Round Pond Road), Robert H. Goff (200 John Dyer Road), D. Craig Curtis (3 High Meadow Road), Jeffrey Z. Snyder (46 William Sisson Road), and Alfred B. Staebler (27 High Meadow Road).

As is required by the Town Charter, the actual election will take place beginning when the voting area (the Wilbur & McMahon gymnasium) opens at 6 p.m. for the FTM on Tuesday, May 20, and will end one-half hour after the FTM formally adjourns.

A paper ballot, with the names and addresses of all six candidates printed on it, will be required to be filled out by each voter participating.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

2016 by East Bay Newspapers

Barrington · Bristol · East Providence · Little Compton · Portsmouth · Prudence Island · Riverside · Rumford · Seekonk · Tiverton · Warren · Westport
Meet our staff
Mike Rego

Mike Rego has worked at East Bay Newspapers since 2001, helping the company launch The Westport Shorelines. He soon after became a Sports Editor, spending the next 10-plus years in that role before taking over as editor of The East Providence Post in February of 2012. To contact Mike to submit information, suggest story ideas or photo opportunities, etc., email