Little Compton Fisherman's Ball to hoist Hudners to Crow's Nest


LITTLE COMPTON — The Sakonnet community will mark the end of this summer season by celebrating the time-honored Fisherman’s Ball on Saturday, Sept. 29, at the Sakonnet Point Club from 6 to 10 p.m. The event, which is open to the public, will also celebrate this year’s winners of the Crow’s Nest Award, Hope and Michael Hudner.

The Fisherman’s Ball enjoys a rich history dating back to 1939. Life Magazine featured a pictorial display of the event in October of 1940, when Dick Rogers, looking a bit like Beaver in the TV sitcom, Leave it to Beaver, was made nationally famous.

In addition to celebrating the uniqueness of Sakonnet Point, the event has also kept alive the awarding of the Crow’s Nest Award. This tradition, established anonymously in 1967, trumpets the Point’s citizen of the year. Anyone may nominate a candidate and all nominees are given consideration. The recipient must be a resident, employed at the Point, a fisherman, or regular visitor and have made a significant personal difference to the general wellbeing of the Sakonnet area.

The permanent bronze award is mounted to the transom of an old skiff, taken from the Foc’sle and hand crafted onto a plaque. The committee of 1967 created a bronze award featuring Ahab standing in the Crow’s Nest looking through the long glass hoping to sight the great white whale.  The Committee hoped the award would serve to recognize at least a few of those who keep their long glass in focus. The award is permanently displayed for all to see at the entrance of the Point Club bar, where the anonymous creators would likely have been pleased to see it placed. The recipients receive a smaller version of the award.

This year’s menu will feature a raw bar, a carving station with prime rib and blackened pork loin, hearty hors d’oeuvres, and a clam chowder station and the cost will be $35/head, children under 12, will be $10. A cash bar will be available.

To keep with tradition, guest are encouraged to come in nautical/fishing attire. While open to the public, space is limited, so call (401) 635-2582 x406 early for tickets.

The Crow's Nest Award is not presented each year, rather it is awarded when the committee decides there is a worthy nominee.

Prior winners have included:

1967 - Carl M. Wilcox

1968 - William H. Gifford

1969 - Eleanor F. Carroll

1971 - Gus Bounakes

1972  -James Blades

1973 - Tony Parascandolo

1974 - John Brayton

1975 - Edward Brayton

1976 - Ernest Rogers

1977 - Harry Woodbury

1988 - David Brayton

1989 - Nina Blades

1990 - Tom Haire

2000 - Bud Phillips

2001 - Jane Cabot

2003 - Richard Rogers

2005 - Gary Mataronas

2006 - Peter Sullivan

2008 - Trip Samson

2009 - Brett Haire

2010 - Friends of the Sakonnet Lighthouse



Fisherman's Ball


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

2016 by East Bay Newspapers

Barrington · Bristol · East Providence · Little Compton · Portsmouth · Prudence Island · Riverside · Rumford · Seekonk · Tiverton · Warren · Westport
Meet our staff
Mike Rego

Mike Rego has worked at East Bay Newspapers since 2001, helping the company launch The Westport Shorelines. He soon after became a Sports Editor, spending the next 10-plus years in that role before taking over as editor of The East Providence Post in February of 2012. To contact Mike to submit information, suggest story ideas or photo opportunities, etc., email