Hot contests to hit Little Compton elections


LITTLE COMPTON — Surprises could be in store for Little Compton voters in this fall's election as several races for town office feature partisan contests, giving voters a choice.

Office seekers filed declarations of candidacy by the close of business on Wednesday, June 25.

In the Little Compton Town Council race, all five positions are up for election, and there are six candidates, five of them incumbents (so designated). One of the six is not going to get elected.

The six council candidates are: Fred M. Bodington III (R., Inc.), Cheryl A. Comley (D), Paul J. Golembske (R, Inc.), Gary S. Mataronas (R, Inc.), and Robert L. Mushen (R, Inc.).

In the election for the Little Compton School Committee, three of the five positions are up for election to four-year terms.

Donald Gomez, a Republican and current chairman of the committee (who has held numerous other public offices in town), has decided not to run again.

Committee member David Beauchemin, also a Republican, is not running again.

In all, there are six candidates in the running for the three school committee slots. Four of the candidates who filed are Republicans, one is an Independent, and the sixth is a Democrat.

According to Town Clerk Carol Wordell, the four Republicans competing for the three school seats will face each other in the Sept. 9 primary, to see which of the four will have to drop out.

A primary will not be necessary if one of the four withdraws from the race. The last date to withdraw, Ms. Wordell said, is July 14.

The Independent candidate and the Democrat will not have to go through the primary process.

The four Republican candidates for the school committee are: Lynn A. Brousseau-Lebreau, Pamela R. Coward, Lori Ann Craffey, and Joseph M. Quinn. Only Mr. Quinn is an incumbent.

The other two candidates for the school committee are Polly Gracia Allen, an Independent, and Patrick McHugh, a Democrat.

Two candidates, from different parties, are competing for the two-year position of Town Moderator, a role which has been filled for the past few years by Larry Anderson, who is not running again.

Scott Morrison, a Republican, has declared his candidacy, and Andrew W.Moore, a Democrat, has declared his.

Mr. Morrison is currently chairman of the town budget committee, with a term that would normally expire at the Financial Town Meeting (FTM) next May.

Following last May's FTM, Mr. Morrison had said he was considering resigning his budget committee position, but had not made a decision. He would have to resign the budget position if elected Town Moderator.

Carol Wordell, a Republican, is running unopposed for re-election to a two-year term as Town Clerk, a position she has held for years.

Mary-Jane M. Harrington, a Democrat, is running for re-election to the position of Town Treasurer and Collector of Taxes, which also carries a two-year term.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

2016 by East Bay Newspapers

Barrington · Bristol · East Providence · Little Compton · Portsmouth · Prudence Island · Riverside · Rumford · Seekonk · Tiverton · Warren · Westport
Meet our staff
Mike Rego

Mike Rego has worked at East Bay Newspapers since 2001, helping the company launch The Westport Shorelines. He soon after became a Sports Editor, spending the next 10-plus years in that role before taking over as editor of The East Providence Post in February of 2012. To contact Mike to submit information, suggest story ideas or photo opportunities, etc., email