East Providence's Wannamoisett hosts 52nd playing of Northeast Amateur


RUMFORD — The 52nd Northeast Amateur Invitational began earlier Wednesday, June 19, at Wannamoisett Country Club, the event once again featuring some of the best young talent in the country and from around the globe.

Rhode Island resident Bobby Leopold got off to a quick start, playing the renowned Donald Ross layout to 2-under par through his first six holes. For real-time scoring click here...

Defending champion Justin Shin is back in the field as are several members of the NCAA champion California-Berkeley squad, including Michael Kim, the low amateur at last week's U.S. Open at Merion just outside of Philadelphia.

The strong field in 2013 is not only a reflection of the Northeast's stature on the amateur circuit, but is also an indication of it being a Walker Cup year. The United States takes on its opponent from Great Britain and Ireland in the biennial event later this summer at the famed National Golf Links of America on Long Island.

Shin won last year's Northeast by three shots in a three-hole aggregate playoff over Jordan Russell. Shin shot 68-71-65-65 to reach the playoff. The 65 in the final round was the low round of the day.

Wednesday's schedule includes late tee times of 11:45 a.m. to 12:57 p.m. Round Two on June 20 tees off at 8 to 9:12 a.m. and again from 11:45 a.m. to 12:57 p.m. Round Three tee times Friday, June 21, run from 7:30 a.m. to 1:06 p.m. A cut at the low 50 and ties takes place at the conclusion of the round. Another Friday highlight is the long drive contest at 5 p.m. off the first tee. The final round on Saturday, June 22, tees off between 7 and 10:45 a.m. with closing ceremonies to follow at the conclusion of play.

2013 Northeast Amateur Field

Anders Albertson, (GA Tech) Woodstock, GA

Cam Andrade, Atlanta, GA

Bo Andrews, (GA Tech) Raleigh, NC

Shotaro Ban, (Cal Berkeley), San Jose, CA

Eric Banks, (FL) Canada

Evan Beck, (WFU) Virginia Beach, VA

Rafael Becker, (Wichita St) Brazil

Blake Biddle, (UNLV) St. Charles, IL

Zac Blair, (BYU) Ogden, UT

Charlie Blanchard, N. Providence

Sean Bosdosh, (MD) Clarksburg, MD

Colin Brennan, (J&W Miami) Andover, Mass.

Mass.x Buckley, (SMU) Rye, N.Y.

Ricardo Celia, (Nova Southeastern) Columbia

Patrick Christovich, New Orleans, LA

Wyndham Clark, (OK St) Greenwood Village, CO

Louis Cohen-Boyer, (Wichita St) France

Eli Cole, (TCU) Beverly Hills, CA

Emilio Cuartero, (MO) Spain

Ty Dunlap, (Texas A&M) Trophy Club, TX

Austin Eaton, Attlebobo, Mass.

Alex Edfort, (Univ of the Pacific) Somerset, NJ

Gene Elliott, West Des Moines, IA

John Engler, Augusta, GA

David Fink, (OR State) Kailua, HI

Richard Fountain, (Davidson) Raleigh, NC

James Gibellini, Australia

Nick Gilliam, Gainesville, FL

Talor Gooch, (OK St) OklahoMass. City, OK

Danny Guise, (Jr) Greenwich, CT

Brandon Hagy, (UC Berkeley) Westlake Village, CA

Charlie Harrison, (Wake Forest) Atlanta, GA

Scott Harvey, Greensboro, NC

Chris Hemmerich, Canada

Kramer Hickok, (TX) Plano, TX

Max Homa, (CA) Valencia, CA

Beau Hossler, (Jr) Rancho Santa Margarita, CA

Michael Johnson, (Auburn) Birmingham, AL

Justin Keiley, (BYU) Ogden, UT

Billy Kennerly, (Clemson) Alpharetta, GA

Michael Kim, (UC Berkeley) Del Mar, CA

Rick Lamb, (TN) Knoxville, TN

Austin Langdale, (Clemson) Townville, SC

Bobby Leopold, Cranston

Denny McCarthy, (VA) Rockville, MD

Ryan McCormick, (St John’s) Middletown, NJ

Mike McCoy, West Des Moines, IA

Jake McLeod, Australia

Mike Miller, Brewster, N.Y.

Keith Mitchell, (GA) Chattanooga, TN

Blake Morris, (Ole Miss) Waterbury, CT

Matt Nesmith, (SC) N. Augusta, SC

Brinson Paolini, (Duke) Virginia Beach, VA

Anthony Paolucci, (USC) Rancho Santa Fe, CA

Cody Proveaux, (Clemson) Leesville, SC

Jamison Randall, Cumberland

Garrett Rank, Canada

Nicholas Reach, (GA) Moscow, PA

Patrick Rodgers, (Stanford) Avon, IN

Joey Saladino, Huntington, N.Y.

Oliver Schniederjans, (GA Tech) Powder Springs, GA

Justin Shin, (NM State) Canada

Nathan T. Smith, Pittsburgh, PA

Chris Swift, New Canaan, CT

Curtis Thompson, (LSU) Coral Springs, FL

Brad Valois, Warwick

Frank Vana, Shrewsbury, Mass.

Julio Vegas, (TX) Venezuela

Clancy Waugh, N. Palm Beach, FL

Michael Weaver, (UC Berkeley) Fresno, CA

Richy Werenski, (GA Tech) South Hadley, Mass.

Jack Whelan, (St Lawrence) Topsfield, Mass.

Todd White, Spartanburg, SC

Cory Whitsett, (AL) Houston, TX

Aaron Wilkin, Australia

Peter Williamson, (Dartmouth) Hanover, NH

Cameron Wilson, (Stanford) Rowayton, CT

Joseph Winslow, (IA) Overland Park, KS

Bobby Wyatt, (AL) Mobile, AL

Greg Yates, (Texas A&M) Masfield, TX

Motin Yeung, (Duke) China

James Yoon, (UC Berkeley) Korea

Carson Young, (Clemson) Pendleton, SC

Zach Zaback, (UConn) Farmington, CT


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

2016 by East Bay Newspapers

Barrington · Bristol · East Providence · Little Compton · Portsmouth · Prudence Island · Riverside · Rumford · Seekonk · Tiverton · Warren · Westport
Meet our staff
Mike Rego

Mike Rego has worked at East Bay Newspapers since 2001, helping the company launch The Westport Shorelines. He soon after became a Sports Editor, spending the next 10-plus years in that role before taking over as editor of The East Providence Post in February of 2012. To contact Mike to submit information, suggest story ideas or photo opportunities, etc., email mrego@eastbaynewspapers.com.