Croston elected Portsmouth School Committee chairman

The Portsmouth School Committee voted unanimously on Tuesday, Nov. 27, to elect David Croston to serve as chairman. The committee also elected fellow Democrat Terri-Denise Cortvriend as the vice chairwoman in a unanimous vote.. Thomas Vadney was chosen to be the committee's clerk, also by unanimous vote. In other action, meeting 'Highlights' show that the committee: • Welcomed newly elected committee members (all Democrats) Emily A. Copeland, Ms. Cortvriend, Andrew V. Kelly and John L. Wojichowski. • Accepted with regret the retirement of Robert Ettinger, Hathaway School principal. The department has advertised for his replacement. • Approved a request for proposals for legal services • Agreed to hold meetings on the second and fourth Tuesdays of the month. • Heard a presentation by Girl Scout Troop 715 about Anti-Bullying Day. The school principals will hold a moment of silence on Dec. 12 in recognition of the event.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

2016 by East Bay Newspapers

Barrington · Bristol · East Providence · Little Compton · Portsmouth · Prudence Island · Riverside · Rumford · Seekonk · Tiverton · Warren · Westport
Meet our staff
Jim McGaw

A lifelong Portsmouth resident, Jim graduated from Portsmouth High School in 1982 and earned a journalism degree from the University of Rhode Island in 1986. He's worked two different stints at East Bay Newspapers, for a total of 18 years with the company so far. When not running all over town bringing you the news from Portsmouth, Jim listens to lots and lots and lots of music, watches obscure silent films from the '20s and usually has three books going at once. He also loves to cook crazy New Orleans dishes for his wife of 25 years, Michelle, and their two sons, Jake and Max.