Colonial Navy of MA to Celebrate 200th Anniversary of Star-Spangled Banner at Marine Museum

Posted

“An American Icon Honored,” The Colonial Navy of Massachusetts & the Sailing Masters of 1812 will Present Colors to Celebrate the 200th Anniversary of the Star Spangled Banner ~ June 15th: 2:00 pm Please join the Marine Museum, the Colonial Navy of Massachusetts, and the Sailing Masters of 1812 for a program created specifically to mark this bicentennial anniversary.  The presentation of colors will trace the history of the various flags flown by the Colonial Navy between 1775 and 1781, while the Sailing Masters will be presenting naval flags from the War of 1812.

 

All uniforms, flags, and equipment are authentic, and members of both organizations are well versed in the relevant history, which they will share with us.Each militia will give a short history of its unit’s flags, demonstrating how they were carried and used historically; educational materials will also be available. Based in Essex, Connecticut, the Sailing Masters of 1812 is an ancient fife and drum corps founded in 1963 as the Essex Fife and Drum Corps.  Their mission is to perpetuate the ancient art of fifing and drumming, and to commemorate the role of Essex in the War of 1812.  The Corps uniform is that of the Sailing Master, the third ranking officer on board a ship-of-the-line of the United States Navy over the period 1810-1815, and is an authentic reproduction of that worn by Captain Stephen Decatur.

 

F R E E: This program, sponsored by a grant from the Fall River Cultural Council, is FREE and open to the public. Join us for a truly unique experience!

 

Save this date: June 15, 2014

Time: 2:00 p.m.

Place: Marine Museum at Fall River

Contact: Mary Concannon, Curator;  508 674 3533

On the web:marinemuseumatfr.org Like us on

Facebook:https://www.facebook.com/MarineMuseumFallRiver

Check us out onTwitter Phone: 508 674 3533 eMail:info@marinemuseumfr.org    

Comments

No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

2016 by East Bay Newspapers

Barrington · Bristol · East Providence · Little Compton · Portsmouth · Prudence Island · Riverside · Rumford · Seekonk · Tiverton · Warren · Westport
Meet our staff
Jim McGaw

A lifelong Portsmouth resident, Jim graduated from Portsmouth High School in 1982 and earned a journalism degree from the University of Rhode Island in 1986. He's worked two different stints at East Bay Newspapers, for a total of 18 years with the company so far. When not running all over town bringing you the news from Portsmouth, Jim listens to lots and lots and lots of music, watches obscure silent films from the '20s and usually has three books going at once. He also loves to cook crazy New Orleans dishes for his wife of 25 years, Michelle, and their two sons, Jake and Max.