Audubon prints on exhibit in New Bedford

Posted

The New Bedford community is fortunate to be one of the 107 public venues worldwide to have the full collection of 435 original hand-colored engravings. In 1866, whaling merchant James Arnold donated four volumes of John James Audubon’s first edition double-elephant folio of The Birds of America to the New Bedford Free Public Library. Sixty of these engravings, many of which have not been seen in more than 30 years, will be on display at the New Bedford Art Museum/ArtWorks! in an exhibition entitled Birds of the First Light and Longhouses, June 1 through October 14, 2018. The curator of the exhibit is Louis Doherty, a founder of the New Bedford Art Museum, and acknowledged Audubon expert, with extensive experience in Audubon’s work.

WHERE: New Bedford Art Museum/ArtWorks!, 608 Pleasant Street, New Bedford
WHEN: Through Oct. 14
COST: $3 seniors and students; $5 adults; children 16 and under are free when accompanied by an adult
MORE INFO: newbedfordart.org; 508/961-3072

Event Dates
Thursday, June 7, 2018 through Sunday, October 14, 2018
Cost / donation
$3 seniors and students; $5 adults; children 16 and under are free when accompanied by an adult
Contact
508/961-3072

2019 by East Bay Newspapers

Barrington · Bristol · East Providence · Little Compton · Portsmouth · Prudence Island · Riverside · Rumford · Seekonk · Tiverton · Warren · Westport
Meet our staff
Scott Pickering

Scott Pickering has been on the East Bay Newspapers team for more than two decades, since starting as a reporter for the Sakonnet Times. He's been editor of most of the papers, was Managing Editor of all the papers for many years, and became General Manager in 2012. Today he can be found posting to EastBayRI.com, steering news coverage, writing editorials, talking to readers, working with the sales team, collaborating on design, or helping do whatever it takes to get the papers out the door. Reach him at spickering@eastbaynewspapers.com.