Sabourin runs to East Providence Rec Turkey Trot victory

Sabourin runs to East Providence Rec Turkey Trot victory


EAST PROVIDENCE — Noted area track and field coach Andrew Sabourin was the winner of the 33rd Annual Turkey Trot Charity Road Race held Saturday, Nov. 23, and sponsored by the East Providence Parks & Recreation Department.

Sabourin, head coach of the Mt. Hope High track program and a Barrington resident, clocked a winning time of 27 minutes, 11 seconds over the 4.3-mile course. Mike Karikas won the Edward Cronan Sr. Memorial Trophy as the first East Providence runner to finish, clocking a time of 31:47 to place eighth overall

A total of 44 runners in the fun run. Special thanks to race official Edward Cronan, the East Providence Police Department for ensuring the safety of the event, Pat LaChance and Bill Caine for their support and generous donations, and the volunteer staff for their assistance and dedication, and event photographer, Mark Spremulli.

Deepest appreciation to this year’s sponsors, DiLuise Bakery of Cranston; Scialo’s Bakery of Riverside; and Sam’s Club of Seekonk.

Race results are as follows:
Edward Cronan Sr. Memorial Trophy: Mike Karikas, 31:47. This award is presented to the first East Providence resident to finish the race.

Division Winners (male; female)
Junior (18 & under): Joseph O’Rourke, 28:57: Angela Leonardo, 35:30
Open (19-39): Andrew Sabourin, 27:11; Rachael Procter, 33:06
Master (40-49): John Thomas, 28:45; Laurie Dupuis, 35:01
Senior (50-59): Joe DeMenezes, 29:02; Pat LaChance, 34:00
Grand Master (60-69): Bob Wallace, 31:46
Diamond Master (70+): Joe Drugan, 33:52                    

The following lists all face finishers:

Andrew Sabourin, 27:11; John Thomas, 28:45; Joseph O’Rourke, 28:57; Joe DeMenezes, 29:02; Chris Cory, 29:19; Robert J. Papa, Jr., 30:45; Bob Wallace, 31:46; Mike Karikas, 31:47; Glenn DelRoss, 32:18; John Martino, 32:24; Eric Benevides, 32:30; Rachael Procter, 33:06; Charles Paroline, 33:10; George Leonardo, 33:34; Joe Drugan, 33:52; Pat LaChance, 34:00; Laurie Pupuis, 35:01; Ron Blain, 35:21; Adam Roach, 35:26; Angela Leonardo, 35:30; Devon Goodwin, 36:37; Brian Drainville, 36:47; Michelle White, 36:49;
Poyee Oster, 37:01, Lorene Corrente, 37:22; Anita Hadlock, 37:36; Jim Maloney, 38:13; Joseph Lydon, 39:42; David Martin, 40:56; Anna Wood, 41:34; Christopher Lambert, 41:35; Chris Ellis, 41:54; LuAnn Hall, 43:48; Patricia Kurzynski, 44:48; Stan Kurzynski, 44:50; Fred Zuleger III, 48:24; Lynne Goodwin, 55:50; Amanda Drainville, 55:51; Douglas Procter, 57:36; Jacob Oliver, 57:37; Meaghan Clark, 61:57; Allee Krause, 62:09; Judy Costa, 62:14; Lori MacDougal, 75:12