Tiverton 1st wins duel with TCC

Tiverton 1st wins duel with TCC


TIVERTON — Election night was a clear victory for Tiverton 1st and Democratic Town Committee-supported candidates for town council, the school committee, and the budget committee.

Tiverton 1st, a new community organization this election season, and the Democrats each endorsed 15 candidates, 13 of whom won.

For the same offices, Tiverton Citizens for Change (TCC) endorsed 13 candidates, only three of whom won.

One of the council winners, endorsed by Tiverton1st and the Democrats, was William Gerlach. “This is a pivotal moment,” said Mr. Gerlach, while campaigning in front of the VFW on Shove Street earlier in the evening before the polls closed. “We’ve hit a fork in the road,” he said. “We can continue the divisiveness and lack of complete community focus, or we can turn a new page and work together to fix the problems we have in town. I’m ready to roll up my sleeves. There’s lots of good work to be done.”

Town Council members Jay Lambert and Joan Chabot won their bids for re-election, the only two TCC-endorsed candidates to win. Current council members Rob Coulter and David Nelson both lost. Mr. Coulter is a member and Mr. Nelson is president of the TCC.

Newly elected to the council are Denise deMedeiros, who came in second in vote-getting behind Jay Lambert. Also new to the council are  James J. Arruda, and Mr. Gerlach.

To see all Tiverton Town Council results, click here.

Winners in their bid for election to the school committee were incumbents Sally Black and Carol Herrmann, and newcomer Jerome Larkin, all three of whom were endorsed by Tiverton 1st and the Democratic Committee.

To see all Tiverton School Committee results, click here.

Winning a seat on the budget committee, and endorsed by the TCC, was Madeline O’Dell. All other winners of budget committee positions were endorsed by Tiverton 1st and the Democrats.

To see all Tiverton Budget Committee results, click here.