Major election battles shaping up in Tiverton

Major election battles shaping up in Tiverton

Tiverton Town Hall

TIVERTON — A field of 26 candidates will be running for contested public offices this coming November. All office-seekers filed declarations of candidacy with the Tiverton Town Clerk’s office by the close of business on Wednesday, June 25.

For Tiverton Town Council (all seven positions are open), the 14 candidates are: James J. Arruda, Jeffrey M. Belli, Michael S. Burk, Joan B. Chabot, Denise M. DeMedeiros., Susan K. Gill, Jay J. Lambert, Craig A. Lebeau, Randy J. Lebeau, Peter A. Mello, James S. O’Dell, Brett N. Pelletier, David Perry, and Joseph R. Sousa.

For the Tiverton Budget Committee (five of 11 positions open), the nine candidates are: Donna J. Cook, Robert D. Coulter, Nancy L. Driggs, Deborah Janick, Linda Larsen, Cecil Leonard, John J. Martin, John E., Souza, and Robert William Sylvia.

For the Tiverton School Committee (two positions open), the three candidates are: Jan W. Bergandy, Charles Page III, and Deborah Anna Pallasch.

Richard P. Daddario is running unopposed for the position of Probate Judge, and Nancy L. Mello is running unopposed for Tiverton Town Clerk.

No candidates filed for the position of Town Sergeant position, currently held by Leslie A. Poldervaart, whose two-year term expires this year.

Declared candidates must pick up nomination papers no earlier than July 1, and turn in the papers to the Town Clerk’s office, signed by 50 registered town voters, by the close of business on July 11.


  1. Oh, look…the TCC lawyers are back. Who will they be looking to sue this time? How many more tax dollars will they cost us?