Portsmouth candidates declare for office

Portsmouth candidates declare for office


PORTSMOUTH — Two dozen Portsmouth residents had declared their intention to run for local or statewide office by Tuesday afternoon.

c_election2014-1Candidates have until 4 p.m. Wednesday, June 25, to file papers to declare for office with Registrar of Voters Jacqueline Schulz, so other names will likely be added to this list. (Check back for an updated story.)

Here are the candidates who filed by 2:30 p.m. on Tuesday.

Statewide office

Dennis M Canario, of 64 Birchwood Drive, is running for re-election to the District 71 House of Representatives seat as a Democrat. He will be opposed by a Republican, Norbert J Rattay, of 28 Cromwell Drive.

Christopher S. Ottiano, 10 Kaitlin Place, is running for re-election to the District 11 Senate seat as a Republican. He will be opposed by an independent, Taylor Dame, of 52 Maniton Drive.

Town Council

Democrats: Running for re-election are James A. Seveney, 72 Macomber Lane; John F. Blaess, 156 Taylor Road; and Michael Buddemeyer, 73 Potomac Road. Also running are Kevin Aguiar, 770 Bristol Ferry Road; Philip T. Driscoll, 169 Immokolee Drive; and Leonard B. Katzman, 162 Spring Hill Road.

Republicans: Incumbents running for re-election are Ketih E. Hamilton, 134 Soares Drive; and Elizabeth A. Pedro, 15 Pearl St. They will be joined on the ticket by former council member Joseph W. Robicheau, 499 Wapping Road; as well as Allen J. Shers, 40 Roger Williams Court.

Independents: Incumbent David M. Gleason, of 63 Massasoit Ave., is running for re-election. Also running as an independent is former council member Judith Staven, of 51 Long Meadow Road, who previously ran as a Republican.

School Committee

Democrats: Running for re-election are incumbents David Croston, 118 Sweet Farm Road; and John Wojichowski; 8 Eyler Drive.

Republicans: Incumbent Thomas R. Vadney, of 5 Brant Road, is running for re-election. Also running are Erica Medley, of 300 West Main Road; and H. Weber Wilson, of 31 Bay View Ave.

Independents: Incumbent Frederick W. Faerber III, of 271 Sprague St., will run for election. Mr. Faerber was appointed to the committee to fill the term of Republican Jonathan H. Harris, who resigned shortly after the last election.

Town Clerk

Two candidates have filed for the clerk’s position: current Town Clerk Joanne M. Mower, of 100 Belmont Drive, a Republican who was appointed to the job after Kathleen Viera Beaudoin retired last year; and Jennifer M. West, of 205 Redwood Road, a Democrat.