Little Compton voters face contested races

LITTLE COMPTON — More choices than they’ve faced in awhile face Little Compton voters in this fall’s election as several races for town office feature partisan contests.
Office seekers filed declarations of candidacy by the close of business on Wednesday, June 25.The filings produced a new mix of potential office-holders.
In the Little Compton Town Council race, all five two-year positions are up for election. There are six candidates, five of them incumbents (so designated in the listing below).
One of the six is not going to get elected.
The six council candidates (in alphabetical order) are: Charles Appleton Jr. ( R., Inc), Fred M. Bodington III (R., Inc.), Cheryl A. Comley (D), Paul J. Golembske (R, Inc.), Gary S. Mataronas (R, Inc.), and Robert L. Mushen (R, Inc.).
In the election for the Little Compton School Committee, three of the five positions are up for grabs, with six candidates in the running to serve four-year terms.
Donald Gomez, current chairman of the committee and a Republican, has decided not to run again, so his seat will be open. Mr. Gomez has held numerous other public offices in town in past years, and continues to serve as a member of the state-level Coastal Resources Management Council.
Current school committee member David Beauchemin, a Republican, is also not running again.
Only committee member Joe Quinn, a Republican, is running again for the seat he currently holds.
In all, there are six candidates for the three school committee slots. Four of the candidates who filed are Republicans, one is an Independent, and one is a Democrat.
Town Clerk Carol Wordell said that the four Republicans competing for the three school seats will face each other in the Sept. 9 primary, to see which of the four will have to drop out.
A primary will not be necessary if one of the four withdraws from the race. The last date to withdraw, Ms. Wordell said, is July 14.
The Independent candidate and the Democrat will not have to go through the primary process.
The four Republican candidates for the school committee are: Lynn A. Brousseau-Lebreau, Pamela R. Coward, Lori Ann Craffey, and Joseph M. Quinn. Only Mr. Quinn is an incumbent.
The other two (non-Republican ) candidates for the school committee are Polly Gracia Allen, an Independent, and Patrick McHugh, a Democrat.
The town moderator position is contested this year. Two candidates, from different parties, are competing for the two-year position, a role which has been filled for the past few years by Larry Anderson, who is not seeking reelection.
Scott Morrison, a Republican, has declared his candidacy for the moderator position, as has Democrat Andrew W. Moore.
Mr. Morrison is currently chairman of the town budget committee, with a term that would normally expire at the Financial Town Meeting (FTM) next May.
Following last May’s FTM, Mr. Morrison said that he was considering resigning his budget committee position, but had not made a decision. He would have to resign the budget committee position if elected town moderator.
If he does resign, his position on the committee will be filled by the next-highest vote-getter in the recent election for committee members, held during the FTM. Roy Bonner garnered the next-highest, so Mr. Bonner would presumably accede to the committee position.
Carol Wordell, a Republican, is running unopposed for re-election to a two-year term as town clerk, a position she has held for years.
Mary-Jane M. Harrington, a Democrat, is running for re-election to the position of town treasurer and collector of taxes, which also carries a two-year term.
No candidate filed for the office of assessor of taxes. The assessor position carries a six-year term. There are three assessors of taxes in Little Compton, all serving staggered terms. An election to the position is held every two years.
The other two assessors (who are not going to an election this year) are Bob Goff and Leonard Duckworth.
The assessor position coming up for a vote this year is currently held by Bill Monahan,who is not running again.
Declared candidates must pick up nomination papers no earlier than July 1, and turn in the papers to the Town Clerk’s office, signed by 50 registered town voters, by the close of business on July 11.


we advice you on question where you can buy ambien online cheap

i can advice you how to buy tramadol online tracking on USA tracking on USA