You are here:  Home  >  News  >  Current Article

Croston elected Portsmouth School Committee chairman

By   /   December 3, 2012  /   Be the first to comment

Sue Stevenson

Taking the oath of office are Emily Copeland, Terri-Denise Cortvriend, Andre Kelly and John Wojichowski.

The Portsmouth School Committee voted unanimously on Tuesday, Nov. 27, to elect David Croston to serve as chairman.

The committee also elected fellow Democrat Terri-Denise Cortvriend as the vice chairwoman in a unanimous vote.. Thomas Vadney was chosen to be the committee’s clerk, also by unanimous vote.

In other action, meeting ‘Highlights’ show that the committee:

Sue Stevenson

Portsmouth Girl Scouts lead the flag ceremony at last week’s school committee swearing-in ceremony.

• Welcomed newly elected committee members (all Democrats) Emily A. Copeland, Ms. Cortvriend, Andrew V. Kelly and John L. Wojichowski.

• Accepted with regret the retirement of Robert Ettinger, Hathaway School principal. The department has advertised for his replacement.

• Approved a request for proposals for legal services

• Agreed to hold meetings on the second and fourth Tuesdays of the month.

• Heard a presentation by Girl Scout Troop 715 about Anti-Bullying Day. The school principals will hold a moment of silence on Dec. 12 in recognition of the event.

FavoriteLoadingAdd to favorites
    Print       Email
  • Published: 1 year ago on December 3, 2012
  • By:
  • Last Modified: December 3, 2012 @ 6:11 am
  • Filed Under: News, Schools

About the author

Sakonnet & Westport Editor

Leave a Reply

You might also like...

Kids are off and running at the start of the first egg hunt.

Kids scamper for Easter eggs in Portsmouth (photos)

Read More →