Bristol Warren School Committee takes oath, elects officers

Bristol Warren School Committee takes oath, elects officers

Army National Guard Lt. Col. John Bento, pictured on left in the back row, will retain his vice chairman duties on the Bristol Warren School Committee while stationed in Afghanistan.

It wasn’t a dramatic change

Members of the Bristol Warren School Committee posed for a photo after taking their oath on Tuesday night.
for the Bristol Warren School Committee, but a necessary one, when its members took the oath of office on Tuesday, Nov. 13.

Those in the middle of their two year term, as well as the re-elected members, Marjorie McBride and Karen Lynch, welcomed their new colleague, Lynn Wainwright who replaced Denise Arsenault on the committee. The group was sworn in by Superior Court Judge Patricia Hurst.

.Absent for the reorganizational meeting was committee member William O’Dell who could not make the meeting due to illness.

As stated in the committee by-laws, the chairman of the school committee may only hold the position for one, two year term. The new chairman must be selected from representatives of the partner town. To recognize outgoing chairman, John Bento of Warren, for the work he gave during his cycle, Superintendent Melinda Thies presented him with a token of appreciation and heartfelt words, thanking him for his past two years of service.

She noted that Mr. Bento was always open and always remained positive, holding the belief “that we are doing good work, based on what is best for our kids,” she said.

Mr. Bento equally praised Ms. Thies for her work ethic toward the schools and her “whole-hearted dedication to this school district.”

“We absolutely did not agree on everything, but that’s what made the relationship stronger,” he said.

Before relinquishing his chairmanship, to Paul Silva of Bristol, Mr. Bento also praised the other members of the committee.

“Each of you are incredibly passionate of what you want to do,” he said.

Prior to adjournment, the school committee members elected officers who will serve for the next two years. The Bristol Warren Regional School District School Committee is:

Paul Silva, chairman
John Bento, vice chairman
Susan Rancort, treasurer
Karen Lynch, secretary
Diana Campbell
Marjorie McBride
William O’Dell
John Saviano
Lynn Wainwright