Bristol administrator, clerk unopposed as candidates file

Bristol administrator, clerk unopposed as candidates file


c_election2014-1Bristol’s Town Hall was relatively quiet on Wednesday afternoon, despite the 4 p.m. filing deadline for those seeking to be on the ballot in November’s election.

Candidates had three days to file their papers, Monday, June 22 through Wednesday, June 25.

Veteran Republicans Mary Parella and Halsey Herreshoff filed as candidates for reelection to their Town Council seats, as did first-term Democrats Nathan Calouro, Edward P. Stuart, Jr. and Timothy Sweeney.

Challenging them will be Republican William S. Grapentine and Democrats David Barboza, Susan Donovan and Ethan Tucker.
For Town Administrator, Tony Teixeira will seek reelection as the town’s first Independent candidate to hold that seat. He will run unopposed, as no one filed to challenge him for the seat. Likewise, as of 4 p.m., Town Clerk Louis Cirillo was the only candidate to file for that position.

For State House seats, Democrats Ray Gallison (D-69) and Ken Marshall (D-68) hope to retain their elected place in the House of Representatives.

In the non-partisan School Committee election, Diana Campbell, William O’Dell and Paul Silva each filed their declaration for candidacy to retain their seats on that committee.
After Wednesday’s deadline, write-in candidates will be the only option for anyone seeking to challenge in November’s election.